02 January, 2010

The Smashing Pumpkins - Live At The Cabaret Metro - CD-R (1988), U.S.A.

For today's post, I have an unexpected and pleasant surprise for everyone. Coming from Chicago, IL "The City by the Lake" The Smashing Pumpkins! They are a very well known grunge/metal/prog rock band in the music world of course, but I won't post anything here that everyone has already heard. Instead, I'll stick to the original intent of this blog and share a very rare side of the band.
Led by the megalomaniacal Billy Corgan (voice and guitar), James Iha (backing vocals and guitar), D'arcy Wretsky (bass) and Jimmy Chamberlin (drums and percussion) the Smashing Pumpkins were a group that was just starting out in the late eighties and still just years away from making it big with their grunge hit album Siamese Dream.
The live bootleg I'm about to present, was taped on October 5, 1988 at the Cabaret Metro and was distributed (in limited quantities on CD-R) at what was supposed to be the last performance of the band on December 2, 2000. Upon listening to the live performance, you'll notice the band exhibits a late post-punk sound with touches of dream-pop and neo-psychedelia (minus the nauseating whiney singing from Corgan!). They would've fit in nicely alongside bands such as Abecedarians and For Against!


The Smashing Pumpkins - Live At The Cabaret Metro - CD-R (1988), U.S.A.

1. There It Goes
2. She
3. My Eternity
4. Under Your Spell
5. Bleed
6. Spite Face
7. Nothing And Everything


More Information:
Official Myspace
Official Website
Band History

No comments:

Post a Comment