02 May, 2010

The Lavender Faction - Four Riffs For Joe - Maxi Single (1991), U.K.

I have a complete disdain for the train wrecks people keep listening to lately such as Ke$ha (how do you pronounce that!?), Justin Bieber and among others.
I don't mean to stomp on people's listening habits, I just think some of them need to go out and explore outside of familiar territory and embrace unknown sounds out there that exist outside of the typical mainstream outlets.
It brings me great relief to see there's been a resurgence of some good shoegaze / psychedelic rock bands for a few years now such as Ceremony, The Daysleepers and Ringo Deathstarr. I'm hopeful this new interest in the genre will bring in more listeners now than it did in the past.
The Lavender Faction (I like the name!) was a band who came from the U.K. in the late 80's or early 90's. They're undoubtedly from the shoegaze scene but got lost in between the likes of more popular groups such as The Jesus and Mary Chain, My Bloody Valentine and Ride. I think it might've been the low production quality of their recordings or maybe they were just poorly managed. Whatever the reason was, The Lavender Faction are worth a listen.
Finding any information for this group was very difficult as it usually is the case with these obscure bands. The only information I was able to find was their limited discography (In My Mind, Ride and Four Riffs For Joe) and the members (Geoff Suggett - vocals and guitar, Tony Pickering - vocals and guitar, Mark Patterson - bass and Andy Lee - drums) involved.
The material I'll be presenting here is from Four Riffs For Joe, released in 1991 by Lust Recordings. Four Riffs For Joe is a mix of indie rock with tinges of shoegaze. I think these guys could've gone further with developing their sound and making it noisier than what it currently was, but after the release of this maxi single the group disappeared.


The Lavender Faction - Four Riffs For Joe - Maxi Single (1991), U.K.

Side A
1. Crawl Down
2. Total Change

Side B
3. Haze
4. Was It You


More Information:

No comments:

Post a Comment